Inspiration, Connection and Magical Moments

13611886 (1)
“You have extraordinary treasures hidden within you. Bringing forth those treasures takes work and faith and focus and courage and hours of devotion. We simply do not have time anymore to think so small.”

~Elizabeth Gilbert-Big Magic

Have you ever had those goose bump moments when you know you have connected with someone or something that completely inspires you? When you are so moved by someone’s work you just have to thank them for sharing and offer your appreciation. There are many of you out there who inspire me. Today I would specifically like to thank Margaret Simon for sharing her work with the world. Her stories and poems bring me much joy and inspiration. Last week she wrote a beautiful poem that sent me back to another place and time. It moved me so much that I reached out to Margaret to let her know the impact her work had on me. Her poem inspired me to write my own poem. She asked me if I would share it with her. I was hesitant at first because it’s scary to put yourself out there but I’m working on my courage so I said, Yes. What an honor for me to have Margaret not only read my poem but then offer feedback and post it on her blog. 

“Keep your Eyes Open. Listen. Follow your curiosity. Ideas are constantly trying to get our attention. Let them know You’re available.”

Elizabeth Gilbert ~Big Magic

moon_rising

Noticing Beauty in the World

I wanted to find some photos  to include with my poem. This search lead me to Derek DeYoung. His artwork took my breath away. I had never heard of Derek and was not familiar with his work.  Derek’s vibrant colored trout and dreamy riverscapes brought me back to the past when I dove into the art of fly fishing, matching the hatch, gently presenting a fly, and mastering rowing a drift boat down the river. I  spent the majority of my time in those days chasing trout, wading and floating some of the great fly fishing rivers of Montana. Each day I was in awe of the beauty that surrounded me.

When I read  Derek’s story it brought me back to how I spend my time now.  I’m in awe of kids. I spend time thinking about kids and how we can make school a place  that recognizes students for their strengths. A place that values creativity, curiosity and connections. A place that provides students with opportunities to problem solve, create, and dream big. A place that doesn’t try to make everyone fit into a box but recognizes each individual student for the unique, gifted person they are. A place where we reconginze the magical moments of connecting to a student’s heart and mind. I’m grateful Derek’s Dad reminded him to dream big and go after his dream. I’m happy Derek was brave enough to follow that dream.

Reaching out and connecting with others who share their creativity with the world has added so much depth, inspiration and joy to my journey. Today I celebrate Margaret Simon and Derek DeYoung and the magical moments of connection and inspiration.

I’m wondering who inspires you? Will you reach out  to them and let them know? Will you be brave and share your treasures?

“Be Brave. Without bravery, you will never know the world as richly as it longs to be known. Without bravery, your life will remain small — far smaller than you probably wanted your life to be.”   

~Elizabeth Gilbert-Big Magic

teton-riser-dayCapturing the Magical Moments

 

Leave a Reply

